Context

There are more than 1,600 Internet providers of different sizes on the Ukrainian market in 2016, and about half of them offer IPTV. Ukrtelecom came out with a proposal for IPTV four years after the main competitor Volya, Volya launched Smart TV in the second half of 2010, and faced a number of other problems. At that time, Ukrtelecom was perceived as a provider of only telephone and Internet, and was not associated with TV services. Furthermore, early users of the Internet had already used competitive offers.

Challenge

Innovative services are easy to sell to innovators. It’s enough to show that this has not happened yet, and curiosity or the desire to be a pioneer will prevail. At the same time, traditionalists, who are accustomed to assess everything rationally and skeptical about the novelties, are more wont to consider such services to be superfluous.

Solution

It was necessary to show that our product, while innovative, also solves very understandable basic problems, which they may have perceived as natural and therefore left unresolved. After research, we saw that in order to make the life of loved ones better, people often sacrifice their own interests. They change plans, turn down opportunities in favor of children or loved ones, and skip their favorite programs. It remained to be seen how one could be equally loving and caring without sacrificing their own interests.

Effect

Ads positively affected the entire brand of Ukrtelecom, as there was more intention to use and recommend the brand among those who saw these ads than after ads of competitors that appeared in the same period. TV-Movie Ukrtelecom came out on top of competitors in certain key indicators, and the company's results showed an increase in revenue by a third, significantly higher than its original goal to increase by one-fifth.

Контекст

В 2016 году на рынке Украины было представлено более 1600 интернет-провайдеров разного масштаба и примерно половина из них предлагала услугу IPTV. Укртелеком вышел с предложением IPTV на 4 года позже основного конкурента («Воля» запустила Smart TV во второй половине 2010 года) и столкнулся с рядом проблем: во-первых, Укртелеком воспринимали как провайдера телефонии и Интернета, он не ассоциировался с услугами ТВ, а во-вторых, продвинутые пользовали (early adopters) уже пользовались конкурентными предложениями.

Вызов

Инновационные услуги легко продавать любителям инноваций: достаточно показать, что такого еще не было, ‒ и любопытство или желание быть первооткрывателем возьмет верх. Другое же дело – традиционалисты, которые привыкли оценивать всё рационально и скептически относятся к новинкам, считая их излишествами. 

Решение

Нужно было показать, что наш всё еще достаточно инновационный продукт решает очень понятные базовые проблемы, которые они, возможно, воспринимают как естественные и нерешаемые. Сверившись с исследованиями, мы увидели, что ради того, чтобы сделать жизнь близких лучше, люди часто жертвуют собственными интересами: меняют планы, отказываются от самого вкусного в пользу детей или близких, пропускают любимые передачи :) Оставалось показать, что можно быть таким же любящим и заботливым, однако при этом не жертвовать своими интересами.

Эффект

Коммуникация позитивно сказалась на бренде «Укртелеком» в целом, так как намерение пользоваться и рекомендовать бренд среди тех, кто видел данную коммуникацию, было больше, чем после коммуникации конкурентов, которая ротировалась в тот же период. ТВ-ролик Укртелекома продемонстрировал самые сильные позиции в сравнении с конкурентами по ключевым индикаторам, а результаты компании показали прирост дохода на 1/3 при плане в прирост на 1/5.