Task

There are problems people aren’t used to speak out about. Sexual and gender-based violence in conflict zones is one of them. It is considered too sensitive, and therefore consistently being marginalized and hushed up, including the victims themselves. And if there is no problem, then there is nothing to solve.

Based on these prerequisites, our task consisted of two consecutive parts: actualize the problem and offer a solution for those who faced it.

Solution

We divided the campaign into two stages.

In the first wave, we drew attention to the problem of gender-based and sexual violence in the conflict zone in Eastern Ukraine. And what prevented the victims from getting the help immediately, helped to find a creative solution. Silence became the campaign’s first wave main hero.

Each media channel contained a context-driven message linking different parts of campaign together, and led to the website stopsilence.com.ua. Users could find comprehensive information about the subject, contact the hotline for help, and send an anonymous message.

The second wave objective wasn’t just outlining the problem using the same tools, but also offering a way to solve it – the hotline for victims of violence. For this purpose, we created a symbolic image of the invisible man, who embodies the invisibility of both victim and a whole problem in general. The invisibility effect was achieved manually, directly during the shooting, using the background of the first wave, which unifyed both parts of the campaign.

The role of the "visible" heroine was played by Masha Yefrosinina – a well-known TV presenter and a public activist of great credibility due to her longstanding position on fighting against domestic violence and helping its victims.

You can listen to the radio commercials using the following links:

- the first wave

https://soundcloud.com/vlad-galyapa/unhcr-stop-silence

- the second wave

https://soundcloud.com/vlad-galyapa/unhcr-invisible-campaign-stop-silence-ii-wave

Result

Tens of thousands of people have learned more about the problem of sexual and gender-based violence. The number of stopsilence.com.ua website visits during the campaign period has reached almost 60 000.

Thousands of people applied for psychological help, information support and legal advice.

Задача

Есть проблемы, о которых не принято говорить вслух. Проблема сексуального и гендерного насилия в кризисных зонах – как раз одна из таких. Для многих она слишком деликатна, а поэтому последовательно маргинализируется и замалчивается. В том числе самими жертвами. А если нет проблемы, то и решать ее не нужно.

Исходя из этих предпосылок, наша задача состояла из двух последовательных частей: актуализировать проблему и предложить решение для тех, кто с ней столкнулся.

Решение

Мы разделили кампанию на два этапа.

В первой волне мы привлекали внимание к проблеме гендерного и сексуального насилия в зоне конфликта на востоке Украины. И здесь то, что мешало сразу помогать жертвам, помогло найти креативное решение. Молчание и стало главным героем кампании первой волны.

Каждый медийный канал содержал контекстно-ориентированное сообщение, связывающее кампанию воедино, и каждый вел на сайт stopsilence.com.ua. А на сайте пользователь мог найти полную информацию о проблеме, обратиться за помощью на горячую линию, а также отправить анонимное сообщение.

Заданием второй волны было, используя те же инструменты, не просто очертить проблему, но и предложить один из способов ее решения – номер горячей линии для жертв насилия. Для этого был создан символический образ человека-невидимки, который олицетворяет незаметность и жертвы, и проблемы в общем. Эффект невидимости создавался вручную, непосредственно во время съемки, а в качестве бэкграунда использовался фон первой волны, что объединило обе волны кампании.

К роли «видимой» героини присоединилась Маша Ефросинина – известная телеведущая и общественная активистка с невероятным кредитом доверия благодаря ее многолетней активной позиции по борьбе с домашним насилием и помощи его жертвам.

Радиоролики можно прослушать по ссылкам:
- первая волна
https://soundcloud.com/vlad-galyapa/unhcr-stop-silence
- вторая волна
https://soundcloud.com/vlad-galyapa/unhcr-invisible-campaign-stop-silence-ii-wave

Результат

Десятки тысяч людей узнали больше о проблеме сексуального и гендерного насилия. Количество посещений сайта stopsilence.com.ua за период кампании достигло почти 60 000.

За психологической помощью, информацией и юридической консультацией обратились тысячи людей.