Context

Over the past decade, the rules of the game in the global premium alcohol market have changed dramatically. If earlier the main consumers were people over thirty, now the core is young people from 18 to 25 years old. Companies that for decades have built relationships with an adult audience have ceased to be relevant to the new customer base, generation Y or Millenials. In addition, over the past twenty years, the standard of living has increased, meaning that today’s young people can afford to buy premium alcohol, which had typically been too expensive for their generational peers. Therefore, all premium drinks have begun to rebrand themselves with an orientation towards a young audience.

Challenge

As part of rebranding at the global level, Martini highlighted the sponsorship of the Williams Martini Racing team in Formula 1. The problem was that in Ukraine, Formula 1 is not at all popular. Only 5% of the country's population is interested in motorsport or motor sport, and it is for this reason that on TV channels from 2016 the broadcasting of these competitions was stopped.

Solution

Without violating the overall tone of the global campaign, the brand’s celebrity sponsor, Ivan Dorn, was brought to the forefront of communication. He was the creative director of the project and a kind of aspirational figure for the project’s target audience. The campaign emphasized his personality and lifestyle, which are of interest to Ukrainian youth in addition to his work.

Effect

The new direction in which AGAMA took Martini’s Ukraine campaign resulted in a significant slowdown of the declining sales trend in the Vermouth category and consolidation of the brand’s position as leader in the premium segment of the Sparkling Wines category.

Контекст

За последнее десятилетие правила игры на глобальном рынке премиального алкоголя кардинально изменились. Если раньше главными потребителями были люди старше 30, то сейчас ядро – молодые люди от 18 до 25 лет. Компании, которые десятилетиями выстраивали отношения со взрослой аудиторией, перестали быть актуальны для нового источника бизнеса – поколения Y, или Millenials. Кроме того, за последние 20 лет уровень жизни возрос, и современные молодые люди вполне могут себе позволить покупать премиальный алкоголь, который был не по карману их ровесникам «прошлого» поколения. Поэтому все премиальные напитки перезапускают свои бренды с ориентацией на молодую аудиторию.

Вызов

В рамках ребрендинга на глобальном уровне Martini выводит на первый план спонсорство команды Williams Martini Racing в Формуле 1. Проблема заключается в том, что в Украине Формула 1 совершенно не пользуется популярностью. Автоспортом или мотоспортом интересуется только 5 % населения страны, и именно по этой причине на телеканалах с 2016 года прекратили трансляцию этих соревнований.

Решение

Не нарушив смысловой последовательности в глобальной кампании, на передний план коммуникации был выведен медийный амбассадор бренда – артист Иван Дорн. Он выступил вдохновителем, креативным директором и образцом подражания для целевой аудитории проекта. В контенте кампании акцент был перенесен на его личность и стиль жизни, которые украинской молодежи интересны так же, как и его творчество.

Эффект

Благодаря этому в 2016 году наблюдалось существенное замедление падения объема на фоне падения категории вермутов и закрепление абсолютного лидерства в премиум-сегменте категории Sparkling Wines.