Context

The well-known international brand Electrolux had been producing some models of washing machines in Ukraine since 2010, but a serious mistrust of Ukrainian-produced machines threatened the company’s survival. The problem they face was illustrated by the fact that sales of imported machines were 10 times greater than sales of Ukrainian-made machines. 

Challenge

The company fared no better in the wave of patriotism after the 2014 revolution when, contrary to expectations, people did not begin to massively buy Ukrainian-made goods, continuing to consider them of lower quality than imported ones.

Solution

The inspiration for our solution was based on the idea that a good weapon against an established stereotype is another strong and established stereotype. Most people in post-Soviet societies believe that the goods we produce for export are of much better quality than the ones produced at home. We compared typical responses of Ukrainians about Ukrainian technology with real picture at the Electrolux plant, which completely contradicted these preconceived ideas. While Ukrainians spoke about poor quality, Electrolux washing machines are built, packed, and sent to homes in Europe and abroad to as many as 15 countries of the world!

Effect

The company ranked No.1 for total sales in December 2014 and sales stayed strong long enough after the campaign.

Контекст

Известный международный бренд Electrolux c 2010 года производит в Украине некоторые модели стиральных машин, но сталкивается с серьезным недоверием украинцев к местному производству – на продажу одной «украинской» приходится более чем вдесятеро больше импортных. 

Вызов

Ситуация усугублялась тем, что вопреки ожиданиям, на поднявшейся в 2014 году волне патриотизма люди не начали массово покупать украинские товары, продолжая считать их менее качественными по сравнению с импортными.

Решение

Идея нашего решения базировалась на мысли о том, что хорошее оружие против устоявшегося стереотипа – другой сильный и устоявшийся стереотип. Большинство людей на постсоветском пространстве уверены в том, что товары, которые производятся у нас на экспорт, имеют гораздо лучшее качество. Мы сопоставили стереотипные отзывы украинцев об украинской технике и реальную картину на заводе Electrolux, которая полностью отвергала эти стереотипы. Пока украинцы негативно отзываются о качестве, стиральные машины Electrolux собираются, пакуются и отправляются в европейские дома за границу – в 15 стран мира!

Эффект

№1 по доле продаж в декабре 2014 г. и значительнейший пост-эффект.