Task

The US Embassy Kyiv wanted to support the Ukrainian military through the media engagement. Army FM radio station has been chosen as the key communication channel. It is the first military radio station in Ukraine made by the military itself. This radio station is designed for military forces who serve in the ATO zone. Broadcast includes information about the Ukrainian army activities, discussions about the military needs in the ATO zone, congratulation speeches to Ukrainian soldiers from civilians, news, legal advice to AFU soldiers, incredible stories about combatants and their commanders, foreign and Ukrainian music, with more than half the airtime reserved for the latter. The key feature of the radio station is that its staff consists entirely of professional military men and people related to military (journalists who graduated from the relevant military department). Therefore, the primary task was to increase awareness of Army FM throughout Eastern Ukraine. One of the largest PR agencies in the country, Pleon Talan («Плеон Талан»), which solves the clients’ problems with maximum efficiency assisted the US Embassy in the implementation of this project.

Solution

The solution for the joint project of the US Embassy Kyiv and the PR agency Pleon Talan was the Army FM radio station communication support using online and offline resources. It provided for the development of the affinity distribution plan: banner promotion, online rotation through the relevant websites, posting information about radio stations on billboards, advertising in the popular East Ukrainian media, developing and manufacturing POSM materials: branded mugs, bags, stickers, pens, baseball caps and T-shirts.

 

45 billboards in Kramatorsk, Mariupol and Bakhmut have been used for Army FM advertising for 2 months. Online rotation on websites with a large target audience outreach, such as Ukr.net, Pravda.com.ua and Obozrevatel.com, was launched. Radio station advertising could be seen in the popular East Ukrainian media (15 publications). Merch products with the radio station logo were manufactured and distributed thanks to the efforts of the Pleon Talan tight-knit team: 1000 mugs, 10 000 bags, 30 000 stickers, 4 000 T-shirts, 4 000 caps and 1 000 ballpoint pens and 100 banners.

Result

During the period between October 2017 and April 2018, Pleon Talan team and the US Embassy managed to conduct a successful advertising campaign and achieve the desired number of views on all platforms: 2,018,323 views were received, which is 0.92% more than planned. All platforms showed good results, which means their audiences are interested in this topic, according to 2,963 clicks – almost 2 times the planned amount.

 

The actual CTR was 0.15%, which is 2 times higher than the initial plan. The audience exceeded the expected numbers by 16%. It is worth mentioning obozrevatel.com and pravda.com.ua – their outreach exceeded the plan by 23% and 78% respectively.

 

Target audience outreach has spread beyond the borders of the Eastern Ukraine to other regions, which exceeded the plan by 3.6%. It is worth mentioning the website pravda.com.ua, where the TA outreach was 2 times higher than planned.

 

The implementation of the project by the US Embassy together with Pleon Talan PR agency showed good results, according to a significantly increased number of listeners as a result of the advertising campaign. Today people, both military and civilians, who want to stay on top of the latest reports from the ATO zone, from 17 cities of Donetsk and Lugansk regions listen to Army FM. Military men feel constant support and realize that their noble cause finds a response in people’s hearts

Задача

Посольство США в Украине решило поддержать украинских военнослужащих с привлечением средств массовой информации. Основным каналом коммуникации должна была стать радиостанция Army FM. Это первое в Украине военное радио, сделанное самими военными. Радиостанция работает прежде всего для военнослужащих, несущих службу в зоне АТО. В процессе вещания предоставляется информация о деятельности украинской армии, обсуждаются потребности военных в зоне АТО, звучат поздравления украинским солдатам из мирных территорий Украины, новости, юридические советы военным ВСУ, можно услышать чрезвычайные истории о бойцах и их командирах, звучит также музыка — украинская и зарубежная, причем на украинскую приходится более половины эфирного времени. Особенностью радиостанции является то, что ее коллектив полностью составляют профессиональные военные и люди, имеющие отношение к военному делу (журналисты, которые закончили соответствующую военную кафедру). Поэтому первоочередной задачей было увеличить знание об Army FM на просторах Восточной Украины. Помощником посольства США в реализации этого проекта стало одно из крупнейших PR-агентств в стране Pleon Talan («Плеон Талан»), которое решает задачи клиентов с максимальной эффективностью.

Решение

Решением для совместного проекта посольства США в Украине и PR-агентства Pleon Talan стала коммуникационная поддержка радиостанции Army FM с использованием онлайн и оффлайн ресурсов. Она предусматривалав популярных СМИ Востока Украины, разработку и изготовление POSM-материалов: фирменных кружек, сумок, наклеек, ручек, бейсболок и футболок.

Реклама Army FM была  разработку самого аффинитивного плана распространения: баннерное продвижение, онлайн-ротацию на релевантных порталах, размещение информации о радиостанции на рекламных щитах, а также рекламу размещена на 45 билбордах в Краматорске, Мариуполе и Бахмуте в течение 2 месяцев. Была запущена онлайн-ротация на порталах с большим охватом целевой аудитории: Ukr.net, Pravda.com.ua и Obozrevatel.com. Рекламу радиостанции можно было увидеть в популярных СМИ Востока Украины (15 публикаций). Благодаря усилиям сплоченной команды Pleon Talan была изготовлена и роздана фирменная продукция с логотипом радиостанции: 1 тыс. чашек, 10 тыс. сумок, 30 тыс. наклеек, 4 тыс. футболок, 4 тыс. кепок и 1 тыс. шариковых ручек, а также изготовлено и установлено 100 баннеров.

Результат

За октябрь 2017 г. — апрель 2018 г. команде Pleon Talan вместе с посольством США удалось успешно провести рекламную кампанию и достигнуть желаемого количества просмотров на всех платформах: получено 2 018 323, что на 0,92% больше запланированного объема. Все платформы показали хорошие результаты — это означает, что аудитория этих ресурсов заинтересована этой темой, о чем свидетельствовали 2 963 клика, что почти в 2 раза больше, чем планировалось.

Фактический CTR составлял 0,15%, а это в 2 раза выше плана. Аудитория превысила прогнозированные показатели на 16%. Стоит выделить obozrevatel.com, охват которого был больше, чем план, на 23%, и pravda.com.ua — охват перешагнул установленную планку на 78%.

Охват целевой аудитории вышло за границы Востока Украины и распространилось и на другие регионы страны, что превышает план на 3,6%. Стоит выделить ресурс pravda.com.ua, где охват ЦА был больше, чем план, в 2 раза.

Реализация проекта посольством США совместно с PR-агентством Pleon Talan показала хорошие результаты, о чем свидетельствует количество слушателей радиостанции, которое значительно увеличилось в результате рекламной кампании. Сегодня Army FM слушают в 17 городах Донецкой и Луганской областей не только военнослужащие, но и люди, которые не имеют отношения к армии, но хотят быть в курсе последних сводок из зоны АТО. Военнослужащие постоянно чувствуют поддержку и осознают, что их благородное дело находит отклик в сердцах людей.