Context

The category of special formulas for infants with digestive problems (DSPT) had shrunk by 1.5 times since 2015 due to price increases, making up only 4% of the total market for infant formula. The low availability of DPST formulas, combined with the high cost, meant that mothers whose babies suffered from digestive problems typically were limited to using over-the-counter symptomatic treatments or folk remedies, or assumed that it is a normal part of infancy that will eventually pass and did not require special treatment.

 

At that time, Nutrilon is the leader in the DPST market, but its continued growth depended on the strength of the market as a whole. 

Challenge

Nutrilon posed the bold challenge of growing the market by educating mothers about how to address the root causes of digestive problems through changing their diet rather than through folk remedies or medication. Part of this task means overcoming the skepticism of mothers, who are firmly convinced of the effectiveness of cheap and familiar remedies. At the same time, the category itself is so small that the Nutrilon advertising budget is five times smaller than the standard advertising budgets of the company’s other products.

Solution

Given the budget constraints, the only channel of communication was the Internet. Realizing that we need to explain the advantages of diet therapy to both mothers who rely on over-the-counter medicines and to mothers who consider digestion problems to be a normal part of infancy, we published relevant web resources specifically tailored to each subgroup. They explained infant digestive problems in detail, clarifying the specific misconceptions of each group. We presented these explanations alongside information about the benefits of treatment with Nutrilon products. We thus developed and implemented a creative approach to advertising Nutrilon mixtures, aimed at both addressing Nurtilon’s advantages over competitors and persuading mothers of the benefits of diet therapy over medications.

Outcomes

The campaign resulted in the volume of sales growing by 22% (instead of the planned 15%) and the growth of the share in the category of DSPT.

Контекст

Из-за роста цен в 2015 году категория специальных смесей для детей с проблемами пищеварения (ДСПП) уменьшилась в 1,5 раза – до 4 % от всего рынка детских смесей. Столь низкую долю ДПСП-категории, помимо высокой стоимости, объясняет то, что мамы, сталкиваясь с проблемами пищеварения у малыша, или используют симптоматические медицинские либо народные средства, или же пассивно воспринимают это как естественное явление, которое со временем проходит и лечения не требует.

 

Nutrilon является лидером сегмента и может укреплять свои позиции за счет конкурентов, но обязательным условием для уверенного роста в данной ситуации может быть только рост категории в целом.

Вызов

Nutrilon поставил смелую задачу роста категории за счет изменения модели поведения мам, которым необходимо было донести, что правильная диетотерапия более эффективна для лечения проблем пищеварения, чем народные средства или медикаментозное вмешательство. При этом мамы стойко уверены в эффективности привычных для них дешевых средств, а категория сама по себе мала настолько, что рекламный бюджет оказался впятеро меньше бюджетов на стандартную поддержку других продуктов компании. 

Решение

Учитывая бюджетные ограничения, единственным каналом коммуникации стал Интернет. Понимая, что нужно по-разному объяснять преимущества диетотерапии мамам, которые опираются на медикаменты, и мамам, которые рассматривают проблемы с пищеварением как природный процесс, мы опубликовали соответствующие тематические статьи и материалы, которые раскрывали особенности проблем пищеварения и преимущества терапии продуктами Nutrilon. Для каждой подгруппы был использован свой набор диджитал-инструментов, который учитывал характерные модели поведения и эффективно доносил мысль о том, что устранение симптомов не решает проблему по существу. Мы разработали общий креатив о рекламируемых смесях Nutrilon, креатив с донесением преимуществ перед брендами-конкурентами и креатив з донесением преимуществ перед медпрепаратами.

Эффект

Рост объемов продаж на 22% (вместо запланированных 15%) и рост доли в категории ДСПТ.