BACKGROUND/TASK:

Ketchup market has been decreasing progressively each year. Torchyn as a leader and one of the most expensive brands in the category is affected by this change more than most. Trying to save up during the inflation people choose cheaper ketchup brands or homemade sauces and preserves. Torchyn has always been on the «taste» territory in communication, which was the key to success. Thus, the main competitors’ aim at the «naturalness» allows them to get ahead taking away Torchyn’s market share. Consumers outflow trend works in competitors’ favor. Torchyn brand had to prevent consumer from switching to products that look more natural, that's why we created an integrated communication campaign focused on Torchyn's quality.

EXECUTION:

The Superiority campaign was planned and implemented as communication integration. In a short period of time we had to deploy a negative sales trend and return client’s market share.

We know that many ketchup consumers are switching to cheaper brands or brands focused on naturalness. Therefore, we chose the other direction – quality. So, what does the ketchup quality mean for consumers? Someone thinks it is tomato paste made from tomatoes of high quality. Others worry about the date of expiry. And someone just doesn’t trust the recipe. The campaign allowed us to get exactly the explanation we needed.

 

RESULTS:

Campaign results exceeded all the expectations and the most challenging KPI forecasts. Not only have we stopped the brand’s decreasing sales, but also reverted the dynamics in category. After the Torchyn campaign launch category showed growth for the first time in 3 years and Torchyn market share reached 55% (+6 p.p vs plan and +3 p.p vs ambitions plan).

Sales increased by 17%, from - 6% to 11%, in 4Q and by 10% in the long-term period (YTD 2017).

БЭКГРАУНД/ЗАДАЧА:

Из года в год рынок кетчупа последовательно сокращается. «Торчин», будучи лидером категории и одним из самых дорогих брендов, представленных в ней, ощущает эти изменения сильнее, чем большинство других. Пытаясь сэкономить во время инфляции, люди выбирают более дешевые марки кетчупа или домашние соусы и консервы. «Торчин» всегда ориентировался на «вкус» в коммуникации бренда, что было ключом к успеху. Главные конкуренты делали акцент на «натуральность», что позволило им выйти вперед, забрав у «Торчина» долю на рынке. Тенденция оттока потребителей сыграла на руку конкурентам. Бренду «Торчин» нужно было предотвратить переход потребителей на продукты, которые выглядят более натуральными, поэтому мы создали интегрированную коммуникационную кампанию с акцентом на качество продукции «Торчин».

ИСПОЛНЕНИЕ:

Torchyn Superiority Campaign была спланирована и реализована как интегрированная коммуникационная кампания. За короткий промежуток времени нам нужно было изменить курс негативной тенденции продаж и вернуть долю клиента на рынке.

Мы знаем, что многие потребители кетчупа переходят на более дешевые бренды или те, которые акцентируют внимание на натуральности продукта. Поэтому мы выбрали другой путь качество. Итак, что же потребители подразумевают под качественным кетчупом? Кто-то думает, что это томатная паста, сделанная из помидоров высокого качества. Других беспокоит в первую очередь дата истечения срока годности. А кто-то просто не доверяет рецептуре. Кампания позволила получить именно тот ответ, который нам был нужен.

РЕЗУЛЬТАТЫ:

Результаты кампании превзошли все ожидания и самые высокие прогнозы KPI. Мы не только остановили падение уровня продаж бренда, но и поменяли вектор динамики в категории. После запуска кампании в категории наблюдался рост впервые за 3 года, а доля рынка ТМ «Торчин» достигла 55% (+6 p.p от минимального ожидаемого результата и +3 p.p от максимального).

Продажи выросли на 17%, с 6 до 11%, в 4 квартале, и на 10% – в долгосрочном периоде (с начала 2017 года).