Context

The launch of 3G was a significant event for the telecommunications market and was anticipated by both consumers and mobile operators. For several years before in the structure of incomes of operators the share of "voice" decreased significantly, giving way to the mobile Internet as the main source of ARPU increase. Therefore, becoming a leader in 3G was a strategically important task for all players.

 

At the 3G-auction, life :) bought both the most expensive frequencies and the opportunity to offer the maximum 3G speed in Ukraine. The event captured the attention of the media.

Challenge

life:) is operator number 3. It is literally half the size of its competitors, therefore traditionally has had much more modest budgets for promotion and communication. Under these circumstances, convincing subscribers to choose 3G offered by life:) is a serious challenge. It was necessary to find an engaging way of communicating the benefits of  life:) 3G to and convince all that life:) is the best operator for using 3G Internet.

Solution

The fact of buying the most expensive frequencies was so debated that it would be unreasonable to say, frankly, not to use it to detach  life:) 3G from competitors. For communication, we developed the life:) 3G + sub-brand, which already in the title reflected the advantage over competitors and opened the context for comparing from life:) 3G + with other 3G operators. This was successfully implemented both in the first and subsequent campaigns. The mainstay of communication was the space station "3G +", which allowed the campaign to emphasize the ultimate in human performance speed. To further strengthen this image, we gave the first cosmonaut of Ukraine, Leonid Kadenyuk, the right to launch the fastest 3G network we provided.

Effect

We achieved the goals of communicating the advantages of 3G from life :) and stimulating the intention to connect, with a significant gap from competitors. Despite significantly lower media costs, the advertising campaign showed much better results and outperformed benchmarks in the category. The base of life :) subscribers has grown significantly compared to the same period of the previous year with a slight parallel growth in one competitor and a significant decrease in the other.

Контекст

Запуск 3G – значимое событие на рынке телекоммуникаций, которого ждали как потребители, так и мобильные операторы. В течение нескольких предыдущих лет в структуре доходов операторов доля «голоса» значительно снижалась, уступая место мобильному Интернету как основному источнику увеличения ARPU. Поэтому стать лидером в 3G стало для всех игроков стратегически важной задачей.

 

На 3G-аукционе life:) купил самые дорогие частоты и вместе с тем возможность предлагать максимальную скорость 3G в Украине. Событие вызвало в СМИ большой резонанс. 

Вызов

life:) – оператор № 3. Он буквально вдвое меньше своих конкурентов, поэтому традиционно располагает гораздо более скромными бюджетами на продвижение и коммуникацию. В этих условиях убедить абонентов выбрать 3G от life:) ‒ серьезный вызов. Необходимо было донести преимущества 3G от life:), стимулировать намерение подключиться и убедить, что life:) ‒ лучший оператор для использования 3G-Интернета.

Решение

Факт покупки наиболее дорогих частот был столь обсуждаем, что не использовать его для отстройки 3G life:) от конкурентов было бы, прямо сказать, неразумным. Для коммуникации мы разработали саббренд life:) 3G+, который уже в названии отражал преимущество перед конкурентами и открывал контекст для сопоставления 3G+ от life:) с 3G других операторов. Это было успешно реализовано как в первой, так и в последующих кампаниях. Центральным образом коммуникации стала космическая станция «3G+», это позволило сделать акцент на предельную в человеческом представлении скорость. Право запустить самую быструю 3G-cеть мы предоставили первому космонавту Украины – Леониду Каденюку.

Эффект

Задачи донесения преимущества 3G от life:) и стимулирования намерения подключиться были достигнуты со значительным отрывом от конкурентов. Несмотря на существенно меньшие медиазатраты, рекламная кампания показала гораздо лучшие результаты и превзошла бенчмарки в категории. База абонентов life:) существенно выросла по сравнению с аналогичным периодом предыдущего года при незначительном параллельном росте у одного конкурента и существенном снижении у другого.